1 down, 2 more to go…

The Asian Heritage Street Celebration (AHSC) was this past Saturday so I have two more shows in May to prep for. Busy, busy, busy month!

A large crowd attended the Asian Heritage Street Celebration on Saturday, May 15th, even though it was really windy and super cold! I had hoped that the weather wouldn’t be as hot as last year, but instead, it was the complete opposite. I was freezing and I think I caught a cold. =( Prepping for this festival was quite a fiasco since my sewing machine broke (AGAIN!) last Thursday night. But luckily, I was able to run over to Target to pick up a backup machine just to get me through these May shows.

The Melinda Mae booth was located on Golden Gate Street right next to the friendly folks of Squishy Sushi. There was a stage right next to my booth so I had some entertainment throughout the day, which included a balut eating contest, a Yo Yo demonstration and a Sailor Moon performance.

Sailor Moon!

There were health booths set up by the Asian Art Museum, which included a giant inflatable colon for people to walk through. I wish I had taken a picture of that! The Faces of Asia parade also walked past my booth so I could see the beautiful traditional garments from each Asian culture.

Faces of Asia Parade

There was a booth on Larkin street that was selling Panda hats and I saw at least 50 people wearing those Panda Hats. At one point, it felt like they were giving those hats away for free since everyone had one. It turned out they were selling them for $12 and even had Tiger hats too!

Can you spot the panda and the tiger?

I had a great time at AHSC so now it’s time to prep for the Capsule Design Festival! I am very excited for Capsule, which will be held in Hayes Valley in SF on Sunday, May 23rd. Wish me luck in making more Melinda Mae bags for this show! =)

Visit the Melinda Mae Handbags booth (#69) at the Capsule Design Festival on Sunday, May 23rd from 11am – 6pm. The event is FREE and is located on Linden and Octavia in Hayes Valley in San Francisco! Hope to see you there!

Thank you to all the people who stopped by the Asian Heritage Street Celebration on Saturday! Here are some pics of the folks that stopped by the Melinda Mae booth at the AHSC!

Melinda Mae Staff for the day!

Thanks everyone for stopping by the Melinda Mae booth and showing your support! =) Hope to see you at the Capsule Design Festival too!

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “1 down, 2 more to go…

  1. sheila says:

    yay! Melinda Mae staff at the fest this past weekend…go go go!! we love Melinda Mae bags!

  2. karen says:

    I had no idea sailor moon was still popular? I liked her back in the day but I prefer the books better than the show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

