Korean BBQ Cook-off!

On my last trip to LA, I went to check out the very 1st Korean BBQ Cook-off sponsored by Yelp. I have been to other BBQ cook-offs but I have never been to a KOREAN BBQ cook-off! I was so excited and I knew that it cook-off would be filled with delicious kalbi, bulgogi, kimchee and much more!

DSC_0016

As we pulled into K-Town, I knew exactly where the cook-off was when I spotted a large cloud of smoke and I could smell the strong smell of Korean BBQ.  This was the first Korean BBQ cook-off and I had only happened to hear about it through a friend’s post on Facebook. The cook-off was located on top of a two-story parking structure for an apartment building in LA’s K-town. The cook-off was packed with people!

Korean BBQ Cook-Off

Korean BBQ Cook-Off

I quickly scanned what kind of food people were holding. I was so excited to see grilled corn, shaved ice and plates full of kalbi. We jumped into one of the many lines that were forming around the lot. There were a bunch of volunteers and boy scouts helping to cook food and organize the event.

the volunteers!

the volunteers!

It was a hot day too and I’m sure the heat from the BBQ grills made it even more sticky and hot. We were able to pick up some yummy Aloe Mango drinks while we waited.

Aloe drink with Mango = Yummy!

Aloe drink with Mango = Yummy!

Grilled Corn!

Grilled Corn!

There was also a long line for grilled corn with butter. After we bought our grilled corn soaked in butter, we turned to  the table filled with various toppings. We added chili powder, pepper and Parmesan cheese to ours. Too bad I added way too much chili powder on mine. It was so spicy that I couldn’t eat it. =(

yay corn!

yay corn!

After an hour of waiting in line, we finally got our food. The plate was $10 and included kalbi, rice, tofu, kimchee and pickled cucumbers…mmm…

mmmm

mmmm

mmm...want some?

mmm...want some?

so happy with our food!

so happy with our food!

It was definitely a great time to check out the Korean BBQ Cook-Off! I’m hoping I can make it the 2nd Annual Korean BBQ Cook-off….Next time, my goal is to get some shaved ice! See you guys there next year?

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Korean BBQ Cook-off!

  1. Maria Paray says:

    This sounded like a yummy feast!

  2. karen says:

    thank you for the bags, they performed splendidly! my gf uses it all the time now. 🙂

    I was going to say, one of the guys there looks like Phillip Wang from Wong Fu Productions. no?

Leave a Reply

