NYC II: oh how I love desserts…

My “Pop Your Collar” post was part one of my NYC posts…So let’s continue part two with DESSERTS!

I am so excited to share these desserts with everyone!  First, I have to tell you about how much I love desserts. If given the choice, I would prefer eating a full meal of desserts instead of an actual entree. Usually, when I eat dinner, I’ll get full really quickly. But when the dessert comes out, suddenly, I am famished. Mmmmm…desserts.  I wish I could have eaten more desserts in NY, but my stomach couldn’t take it.  So sad but I will be sure to be on the hunt for more desserts the next time that I go.

The very first dessert I found was Ferrera gelato located in Little Italy.

Ferrara Gelato - Little Italy, NY

Ferrara Gelato - Little Italy, NY

I decided on Stracciatella gelato which is vanilla gelato with fine chocolate shavings…and it was definitely yummy and a great break from the slight heat in NY.

my gelato...mmmm

my gelato...mmmm

Trust me, that was finished in 2 seconds. One of my favorite places for desserts in Manhattan is a dessert place in the Financial District called Financier. I love it because all of the desserts are in glass cases and there are so many decadent desserts to choose from.

DSC_0190

yum

DSC_0191

I think I was drooling

chocolate eclair

chocolate eclair

Financier

Financier

As you can see, there are many desserts to choose from and at very reasonable prices. It was a bad idea to go in on an empty stomach so I chose six different desserts. hah

My selections

My selections

Then I tried Max Brenner in Times Square which is an amazing Chocolate heaven. The Max Brenner menu is full of chocolate creations and regular food. I decided that I had to try the chocolate items and I will definitely be going back to try more.  Here are some shots of the menu:

DSC_0245

DSC_0243And here’s what I ordered…I believe it was a banana split waffle and I also ordered a Peanut Butter Chockie drink, a very thick peanut butter and chocolate milkshake. My friend ordered a Chocolate Granita with a touch of cinnamon. I wish I had ordered that…I’ll get that next time.

Banana Split Waffle

Banana Split Waffle

Peanut Butter Chockie

Peanut Butter Chockie

The drinks came in these ceramic cups with metal straws. I wanted to buy one for myself but it was $15…so I’ll just have to go back to drink the Granita in these fancy cups next time. The last dessert that I tried was Baked by Melissa cupcakes. Baked by Melissa has a small window in which they sell cupcakes out of in the SoHo area. These cupcakes are a little over an inch in diameter and are filled with various treats.

DSC_0198

Baked by Melissa

Baked by Melissa

I tried the Peanut Butter Cups, Cookie Dough, S’mores, Cookies and Cream and the Tie Dye cupcakes. They also had a Red Velvet and Peanut Butter & Jelly cupcakes.  I love them because they are so easy to just pop in your mouth. I think I finished this box after walking four blocks from the window. Yummmm AND they deliver to NY addresses. If I lived in NY, I would be ordering these pretty often.

Baked by Melissa Tie-Dye cupcake

Baked by Melissa Tie-Dye cupcake

So those are all the desserts I tried in NY…this trip.  I would highly suggest hitting up these spots if you are a dessert-lover. Anybody have suggestions of other dessert places in NY? I am always willing to try new desserts!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “NYC II: oh how I love desserts…

  1. Dee says:

    Oh My goodness, those looked so good..yum yum gimme some please!! I had to laugh at eating most of the box in 4 blocks..too funny, you did have a lot of dessert and I’ve already made note of your selections. My all time favorite place to visit when I go to new your is Jr.’s cheesecake…they have the BEST cheesecake ever…the strawberry’s seemed to have been born with sugar…huge slice to go please!! Sounds like you had a fun trip.

  2. Angelina says:

    OMG those all look sooooo good! I think I’m drooling at my desk! LOL

  3. Susan says:

    Yummmmy!! so jealous of all the good desserts that I’m missing out on! hehe. the banana split waffle looks especially delicious!

Leave a Reply

