Pop your collar!

Hi everyone! I just got back from NYC and it was amazing! I was expecting the weather to be hot, humid and sticky as it usually is in New York in July, but it was breezy, about 80 degrees and just beautiful! I have so much that I want to share with you all…the food, the scenery, the people, the places and my overall fantabulous trip to New York!  I did so many fun things in NY and I’ll be sure to blog about all of it. I even took some great pictures of my new Melinda Mae wristlets. =)

One of the things that I love to do in New York is people-watching. New York is well-known be the top high fashion location in the United States so there is always a plethora of high-end fashion and trendy people. I am always in awe of the women that can walk around Manhattan in 4 inch heels with grace and speed. I admire all the personality and uniqueness that New Yorkers can express through the way they dress. And since I love fashion, I really notice little details, accessories, colors, shapes, patterns, fabrics, etc. of what people are wearing.

However, there is something that bothers me about men’s fashion and continued to bother me when I was in NY: the popped collar.  I know that Kanye had made this popular a few years ago and it spawned a large following of men popping any collar that they had in their closets: jackets, polos, button up shirts, etc.  It reached another level when men were doubling up their polo shirts and popping all the collars and of course, the polo shirts were bright blue, lime green, hot pink or some other shade from the 80s. I’m not sure why it bothers me so much but I always notice it when it happens and I want to push their collars down.

So since Manhattan/New York is so fashionable, I was really shocked to see men popping their collars while I was in NY. I was hoping that it was mainly tourists that were sporting this trend because I would be oh so disappointed in them if they were New Yorkers.  It started when I headed over to the Uniqlo store in Soho since it is the only Uniqlo store in the US and I loved the Uniqlo store in Tokyo. They have a very classic style with basic polos, t-shirts, jeans, dresses, tanks – all in a wide variety of colors. As I went to pay, I saw this display…

Uniqlo - Soho, New York

Uniqlo - Soho, New York

Not only are all the collars popped on all the folded polos, but they actually made the under side of the collar a different color for the purpose of popping your collar. Oh man….And as I was taking this picture, at least 10 guys came by and picked up these polo shirts. So here are some shots that I took when I was traveling around NY. Can you spot the popped collars?

Financial District - New York

Financial District - New York

NY Chinatown

NY Chinatown

St. Marks area

St. Marks area

Manhattan

Manhattan

Did you find all of them? =P That last picture is my favorite because of that other guy’s eyebrows. haha  There were many more popped collar sightings, but these were the only ones that I could catch on camera.  Well I wanted to share my thoughts on the popped collar, just one of my fashion pet peeves.  I’m sure there are a ton of other annoying fashion trends (studded clothing, trucker hats, jelly shoes, crocs, etc.).  I actually did notice a few of these other trends in NY too. Hopefully, on my next trip, I’ll take more pictures of the trends I do like. =) Do you have a fashion pet peeve to share?

3 thoughts on “Pop your collar!

  1. Angelina says:

    Hilarious! OMG the popped collar totally bugs me too! My coworker came into the office (in Foster City!) one day with his polo shirt collar popped. I was like uh… no. I made him put it down. LOL.

  2. Steve says:

    UGH. Shame on you NYC. Your fashion rep just dropped by a lot.

    Layered popped collars??? WHY??? Shoot, if you’re gonna do two, why not do three?? or seven?? or if you’re, uber-cool, TEN??

    Those pictures are hilarious. Nice photog skills! It shows how the virus of popped collars can spread everywhere. No one is safe.

    I’m gonna go start a new trend of wearing your hoodie backwards with the hood up.

  3. Jonathan says:

    Yeah, fashion can be amusing. Maybe those guys picked up the shirts BECAUSE you were taking a picture. “Ooowee! Guess this hip style gets the ladies’ attention. I’ma get me some and find love and be supercool and not at all a follower d-bag.”

Leave a Reply

