Sewing Machine #2

So since my first sewing machine decided to rain metal pieces everywhere, I went on a quick hunt to find a replacement sewing machine so I could make all my bags for my recent Japantown Craft Fair. I ended up picking up a Singer sewing machine. My last machine was a Brother sewing machine that I bought in 2002.  So 7 years is pretty good but let’s see how long this one lasts.

the new sewing machine!

the new sewing machine!

I started using this one on Tuesday night and I have already broken 4 needles. =( This machine seems a lot more fragile than my old machine and sews a bit slower. There is also a tricky automatic needle threader, which I haven’t decided if I like yet. But it did do well in letting me make my last few bags for my Japantown show on Saturday.

JCYC Craft Fair and Island Jam

JCYC Craft Fair and Island Jam

It was a beautiful sunny day in SF on Saturday! The Craft Fair took place in Japantown San Francisco and there were vendors selling t-shirts, jewelry, artwork, dog apparel, hand towels and other handbags. It was great to be next to my friends at A Hui Hou Hawaiian jewelry and I made an awesome trade with the Fat Rabbit Farm folks. Look at the three shirts I got! I love them!

Fat Rabbit Farm!

Fat Rabbit Farm!

I met some really nice people at the fair and had some friends stop by my booth! Thanks to Danny, Uvan, Mona, Annalyn, Jared, Holly, Jenn and my family for stopping by! And special thanks to Steven for keeping me company ALL day! So after the show, we headed to Tanpopo for ramen since we hadn’t eaten all day long except for a piece of sushi that I accidentally dropped on the floor after one bite. =(

Tanpopo Ramen

Tanpopo Ramen

yakiudon with calamari

yakiudon with calamari

Then we headed to the Japantown Kintetsu Mall and wandered around for a bit. We bought some Taiyaki from the food court and browsed into the new Sanrio store and Kinokinuya.

mmm...taiyaki

mmm...taiyaki

Speaking of Taiyaki, there is a place in San Mateo called Sweet Breams that has really good Taiyaki and the packaging is really cute.  I haven’t been there since December but have been trying to make a trip out again soon. I really love their store because there is artwork displayed from local artists.

Sweet Breams...indeed

Sweet Breams...indeed

The taiyaki at Sweet Breams are smaller than the ones in Japantown but these are deliciously bite-sized and you have your choice of chocolate, nutella (my fave!), red bean and more! The store is located in downtown San Mateo so stop by if you get a chance.

yummmmmmmmm

yummmmmmmmm

So back to the Japantown fair, it was a good day to showcase my bags, meet some nice people, hang out with friends and eat some yummy food. =) Here are a couple pics of Melinda Mae handbags showcased at the fair:

Umbrella Clutch

Umbrella Clutch

Yuzu Medium Handbag

Yuzu Medium Handbag

Let m know what you think! =)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Sewing Machine #2

  1. Angelina says:

    Beautiful bags! I love your choice of fabrics! I heard about you & your company through Fred Jeng. I hear we are both former Tritons! = )

    I also LOVE Sweet Breams! YUM! Tried to go there on Saturday, but it was their 1 year anniversary and the line was out the door! Will have to try again soon.

Leave a Reply

